AirBnB search intensifies

… herp derp. Help. T_T

Tokyo train system subway map

So, carrying on from last time, I’m still looking around AirBnB for a place for us to stay at in Tokyo.

And no, I still don’t have a Japanese visa. I haven’t even started the application process yet, and I’m still gathering the documents I need for it.

Ahahahah, yeah, here I go again. ;w;

Okay, at the very least, I now know what I would like for us to have. Namely:

  • Home wifi
  • Free Pocket wifi
  • A real bed
  • A bath tub that doesn’t require me to be in a fetal position in order to use it
  • Non-claustrophobic space/space for luggage
  • Access to a train station
  • A clothes washer and dryer
  • A host that speaks English

So that narrows the search down a bit. I also realized that there ARE places available that only cost around more or less 1,000 PHP per day, which is a better spot than when I first started looking around, and mostly found places that cost around 2,300 PHP or more per day. Now that I know this, I’m more keen to see how far down the price range we can go (hey, money saved on lodgings means more money for shopping!)

As I’ve been scouring listings, though, I did notice two important things:

  • You’ll really need to figure out how to use their trains
  • You’ll REALLY need to figure out how to sort your garbage

Yes, almost all the listings I found so far have indicated in the House Rules section that guests will need to sort the garbage properly, or face a hefty fine.

And this makes me so nervous because that sort of system is nonexistent in Manila. Heck, our own building’s janitors don’t know how to sort recyclables from non-recyclables, despite the many signs in the trash room, telling the residents to segregate.

So I decided to do a bit of Googling. I figured I’d at least read up on it and get a headstart so we’re not completely lost when we finally get to Tokyo.

All I got for my efforts was a freaking migraine.

The train maps look like noodles to me, and I ended up reading a 22-page document that was full of nothing but instructions on how to properly segregate garbage.

On one hand, I love the fact that Japan is environmentally-conscious. On the other hand, HOW DO YOU KEEP UP WITH ALL THIS????? @___@;;;

One thought on “AirBnB search intensifies”

Leave a comment